New Delhi: DPSR University hosted its VIth Annual Convocation Ceremony on Friday, December 22, 2023 in the presence of Hon’ble Chancellor Shri Vinay Kumar Saxena, Lt. Governor, Govt. of NCT of Delhi. Prof. Nirmal K. Ganguly former Director General of ICMR was the Chief Guest and Ms. Atishi Marlena, Hon. Minister of Education, GNCTD was the Guest of honor. Also in attendance were Members of Governing Council, Members of Board of Governors, Honorable Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Deans & Directors and faculty members apart from graduating students and their parents.
Total 605 students successfully graduated from various academic programmes at the VIth Annual Convocation of DPSRU. The efforts and achievements of exceptional students in academics were recognized and rewarded.

The Convocation Ceremony, started with the Academic Procession moving towards the auditorium and rendition of university song followed by Invocation and lamp lighting by the dignitaries. The dignitaries on dias were felicitated and the Convocation was subsequently declared open by the Hon’ble Chancellor. The register of graduates was presented by the Registrar to the Hon’ble Chancellor for his signatures
The function continued with the welcome speech and presentation of recent major accomplishments of university by the Honorable Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ramesh K. Goyal. In his remarks, the Vice Chancellor expressed his happiness with the university’s active involvement in the G20 celebrations fostering academic discourse and a commitment to global engagement. As a hub of knowledge and innovation, DPSRU took great pride in participating in various events and initiatives related to the G20 agenda. He also stated that University crafted 23 programs, involving emerging Centres of Excellence, DKDF-Center for Precision Medicine, DSIR Central Research Technology Development Hub (CRTDH), Nano technology research units, new ventures like Plant Tissue Culture Lab, Advanced Pharmaceutical Analytical Chemistry Lab, Nav Grah Vatika and Eco-friendly setups for making plastic free campus and many others.

Education Minister of Govt. of NCT Delhi, Ms Atishi addressed the gathering enthusiastically. Atishi extended heartfelt congratulations to the graduating students. She proudly highlighted Delhi Pharmaceutical Sciences and Research University (DPSRU) as the first University of Pharmacy, marking a significant milestone in education. Emphasizing the profound importance of education, Atishi underscored it as the most substantial investment one can make. In her address, Atishi applauded DPSRU for being at the forefront of pioneering the Yogshala program, spreading its positive influence across the country. She highlighted the significance of the Indian medicine system and encouraged its widespread use.

Former director general ICMR, Prof. Nirmal K. Ganguly encouraged the graduating students, emphasizing that their journey has just commenced and urged them to navigate through the challenges that may arise in their professional life. He also delved into the realm of scientific development and the enriching learning experiences that the university environment offers. Commending DPSRU for its physiotherapy course, He highlighted the pivotal role of Ayurveda and immunotherapy in healthcare and emphasized the importance of supporting “Made in India” products within the health sector, he also imparted a valuable piece of advice to the students stating, “Never crack in a crisis if you want to be successful”.
Lieutenant Governor and Hon’ble Chancellor Vinay Kumar Saxena praised the gathering and extended wishes to young talents as they embark on a new chapter in life. Mentioning NEP 2020, he highlighted the interdisciplinary opportunities it offers to students, particularly in the fields of Science and Technology. He expressed optimism with the statement that from 2023 Amrit Kal has started, contributing towards the success of Viksit Bharat. Recognizing the significant contribution of the pharmaceutical sector to the country’s economics, he emphasized its prospering trajectory year by year. Saxena encouraged the importance of research collaboration, emphasizing its role in propelling the industry towards a bright future. He also commended DPSRU for actively promoting MSME’S and start-ups through its Incubation Centre, DIIF (DPSRU Innovation and Incubation Foundation). In addition, he appreciated DPSRU’s precision medicine courses and department, specifically noting their advanced capabilities in bioinformatics and Quality by Design (QBD).

The meritorious students were awarded the gold medals by dignitaries on stage. The LG TROPHY AWARD was presented to Mr. Namish Manchanda considering overall performance in academics, extracurricular and co-curricular activities in B. Pharm. The ‘Jwalat Alniche Gold Medal’ was awarded to Ekosight Technologies Pvt Ltd, the Start-up company of DPSRU Innovation and Incubation Foundation, for developing outstanding innovative healthcare product.

Towards the end, the Registrar proposed a vote of thanks. After the stirring rendition of the National Anthem by all present, the Convocation was declared dissolved by Honourable Chancellor. Eventually, the Academic Procession left the auditorium and marked the end of the sixth convocation ceremony.


Exit mobile version