Saturday, May 8, 2021
Home Top Stories Plan for opposition meeting next week on farmers issue

Plan for opposition meeting next week on farmers issue

NEW DELHI| After the protesting farmers rejected the government’s proposals on agricultural laws, now all opposition parties can meet next week to pressurize the government. The opposition has claimed the support of 25 political parties, but on Tuesday only five people were included in the delegation to meet the president. Among whom are Congress’s Rahul Gandhi, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar, CPI-M leader Sitaram Yechury, CPI’s D. Raja and DMK’s TKS Elangovan, while most other opposition leaders were not in Delhi.

Opposition parties include Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Trinamool Congress, Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Shiv Sena, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Bahujan Samaj Party, Samajwadi Party, National Democratic Party. Apart from this, the National Conference, Rashtriya Lok Dal, Janata Dal-Secular, DMK, Communist Party of India-Marxist, Communist Party of India, Revolutionary Socialist Party, Forward Bloc and many other smaller parties are also opposing the agricultural laws.

On Tuesday, the opposition delegation submitted a memorandum to the President, stating, “We urge you as the protectors of the Indian Constitution to disobey your demands and accept their demands.”

Most Popular