Tuesday, December 5, 2023
HomePoliticsUP civic polls: BJP sweeps, wins all municipal posts

UP civic polls: BJP sweeps, wins all municipal posts

Lucknow | The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has made a clean sweep in the counting of votes held on Saturday in the municipal elections in Uttar Pradesh. Has hoisted the flag of victory on all the municipal corporations, while the main opposition party SP had to face defeat in all the seats. According to the State Election Commission, the election results of 17 municipal corporations of UP have been declared and BJP candidates have been elected mayors in all of them.

The commission reported that the BJP also won the mayor’s post in Ayodhya, Gorakhpur, Aligarh, Agra, Kanpur Nagar, Prayagraj, Ghaziabad, Jhansi, Meerut, Moradabad, Saharanpur, Mathura-Vrindavan, Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Lucknow, Firozabad and Banaras Municipal Corporations. Is.

According to the State Election Commission, BJP candidate Sushma Kharwal has won the Lucknow Mayor seat by a record margin. He got 502,680 votes. Whereas SP candidate Vandana Mishra got 298,519 votes, Congress 1 lakh 2 thousand 633, BSP candidate Shaheen Bano got 75997 votes, and AAP candidate Anju Bhatt got 25206 votes. BJP candidate has won the election by 2 lakh 4 thousand 161 votes.

BJP’s Pramila Pandey defeated her nearest rival SP’s Vandana Vajpayee by securing 440353 votes in Kanpur Nagar. Vandana got 262507 votes. There were a total of 13 candidates and Congress’s Ashni Vikas Awasthi, who stood third, got 90480 votes.

In Ayodhya, BJP’s Girish Pati Tripathi won the mayoral election with 77,494 votes defeating his nearest rival Ashish of Samajwadi Party (SP) by a margin of 35,638 votes. Ashish got 41856 votes.

According to the Election Commission, BJP’s Dr. Manglesh Srivastava defeated his SP Kajal Nishad in Gorakhpur. Dr. Srivastava got total of 180629 votes while Nishad got 119753 votes.

In Bareilly, BJP’s Umesh Gautam secured over 1.67 lakh votes, defeating independent candidate Iqbal Singh Tomar by a margin of 56,343 votes.

In Jhansi, Bihari Lal Arya of BJP secured 1,23,503 votes and defeated his nearest rival Arvind Kumar of Congress by a margin of 83,587 votes.

In Prayagraj, Umesh Chandra Ganesh Kesarwani secured over 2.35 lakh votes and defeated Samajwadi Party’s Ajay Kumar Srivastava who got over 1.06 lakh votes.

The BJP retained control of the Mathura-Vrindavan Municipal Corporation this time as well. BJP’s Vinod Aggarwal secured 145720 votes defeating his nearest rival Raja Mohtashim Ahmed of BSP by 110529 votes. Ahmed secured 35191 votes. In the last election, Dr. Mukesh Arya Bandhu of BJP won the post of mayor.

Similarly, in Saharanpur, Ajay Kumar of BJP defeated Khadija Masood of BSP by a margin of 8031 ​​votes.

BJP’s Prashant Singhal won over 1.93 lakh votes in Aligarh by defeating his nearest rival Jamir Ullah Khan of SP by a margin of 60,902 votes.

In Shahjahanpur, BJP’s Archana Verma won the mayor’s seat by 80,762 votes defeating Congress’s Nikhat Iqbal by 50,484 votes.

In Ghaziabad BJP’s Sunita Dayal secured 3,50,905 votes defeating BSP’s Nisara Khan who got only 63,249 votes.

BJP’s Hemlata Diwakar defeated BSP’s Lata in Agra. Hemlata got 440353 votes and Lata got 159497 votes. SP’s Juhi Prakash stood third.

In Meerut, BJP’s Harikant Ahluwalia defeated his nearest rival Anas of AIMIM by securing 235953 votes. Anas got 128547 votes. SP’s Seema Pradhan stood third by getting 115964 votes.

In Firozabad, BJP’s Kamini Rathore was able to defeat SP’s Mashroor Fatima (74447) by getting 101416 votes. BSP remained at number three here.

BJP’s Vinod Agarwal has won the mayor’s post in Moradabad by a margin of 3589 votes. He got 121415 votes. Congress’s Rizwan Qureshi, who came second, got 117,826 votes. While SP candidate Raisuddin got 13441 votes and BSP’s Mohammad Yameen got 15845 votes.

BJP candidate Ashok Tiwari got 291852 votes while SP’s Omprakash Singh got 158715 votes in Prime Minister’s parliamentary constituency Varanasi. From here BJP registered 133137 victory. There was a fight between BJP SP and Congress on this seat. Later BJP left everyone behind.

In the year 2017, out of total 16 seats in municipal elections, BJP mayors were elected in 14 seats, while BSP candidates won in Aligarh and Meerut.

Voting for the municipal elections was held in two phases on May 4 and 11.

Most Popular