Monday, June 17, 2024
HomePoliticsCounting of votes begins for Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections

Counting of votes begins for Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections

Itanagar: Counting of votes for the assembly elections held on April 19 in Arunachal Pradesh began on Sunday morning.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Pawan Kumar Sain said the results for all 50 assembly seats are expected to be declared by noon.

The five-year term of the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly ends on June 2.

The ruling BJP has already won 10 seats unopposed. Elections for the remaining 50 assembly seats were held on April 19.

The CEO said counting of votes began simultaneously at 24 counting centers in 25 districts amid tight security.

First of all, postal ballots are being counted. Then the EVM votes will be counted. More than 2,000 officials have been appointed for the counting.

The Election Commission has also appointed 27 observers to monitor the process.

Ten BJP candidates, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu from Mukto assembly seat, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein from Chowkham, party senior leader Techi Kasao from Itanagar, Nyato Dukam from Taliha and Muchu Mithi from Roing, were elected unopposed.

Around 78 per cent polling was recorded in the parliamentary election and 83 per cent in the assembly polls.

In all, 133 candidates were in the fray for the 50 assembly seats and 14 for the two parliamentary constituencies.

The counting of votes for the parliamentary seats will be done on June 4 along with the rest of the country.

Most Popular