Thursday, May 26, 2022
Home Top Stories Sushil Chandra takes charge as Chief Election Commissioner

Sushil Chandra takes charge as Chief Election Commissioner

New Delhi | Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra took charge as India’s 24th Chief Election Commissioner on Tuesday. He replaces Sunil Arora, who retired a day earlier. Sushil Chandra was appointed as Election Commissioner on February 14, 2019.

Sushil Chandra along with Arora and former Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa successfully conducted the Lok Sabha elections that year.

Sushil Chandra’s term ends on May 14, 2022. However, before this, assembly elections are likely to be held in the states of Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Uttarakhand and Manipur.

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed the senior-most Election Commissioner to the top post in a conference held on Monday. After Arora retires, the Election Commission now has two members.

Chandra will oversee the ongoing assembly elections in West Bengal, where voting for four of the eight phases has been completed.

Most Popular