Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Home National BJP's defeat in Prime Minister Modi's constituency

BJP’s defeat in Prime Minister Modi’s constituency

BJP has suffered a major setback in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi. The party lost two seats in the Legislative Council elections. Both seats, one reserved for teachers and the other reserved for graduates, both were won by Samajwadi Party candidates.

Ashutosh Sinha of Samajwadi Party won the Varanasi graduation seat, while his own party colleague Lal Bihari Yadav won the teacher’s seat.

Socialist winner Lal Bihari Yadav in Varanasi teacher constituency said, “This is a big win for the party. I am very happy with the result.”

Results of two seats are still pending, with BJP winning four out of 11 seats, Samajwadi Party winning three and Independents two.

Despite a favorable rally for the ruling party, the victory of the Samajwadi Party in the BJP stronghold has surprised many.

Uttar Pradesh is one of the six states in India, with a bicameral legislature, with two houses – the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council. The Legislative Council in the state has 100 members.

Voting was held on December 1 for 11 seats of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council and six seats in the teachers’ constituency.

The term of the members expired on 6 May, but the election had to be postponed due to an epidemic.


Most Popular

Ice cream from China tests positive for Covid 19

TIANJIN, China — The coronavirus was found on ice cream produced in eastern China, prompting a recall of cartons from the same batch, according...

Biden nominates Indian-American Ujra Zeya at the State Department

WASHINGTON| Elected US President Joe Biden has nominated Indian-American diplomat Ujra Jeya to be the Under Secretary of Civilian Security, Democracy and Human Rights. Jeya quit...

CBI arrested railway officer in the bribery case of one crore

NEW DELHI| The CBI has arrested a senior Railway Engineering Service officer of 1985 batch along with two others in an alleged bribery case...

Britain invites Prime Minister Modi for G7 summit

NEW DELHI / LONDON| Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been invited by British Prime Minister Boris Johnson to attend the G7 summit to be held...