Friday, May 14, 2021
Home Top Stories SC-appointed committee on three agricultural laws filed a report

SC-appointed committee on three agricultural laws filed a report

New Delhi| A three-member committee of agricultural economists constituted by the Supreme Court has filed its report on three agricultural laws in sealed envelopes. The committee consists of Bhupinder Singh Mann, National President, Bharatiya Kisan Union and All India Farmers Coordination Committee, Dr. Pramod Kumar Joshi, Agricultural Economist, Director of South Asia, International Food Policy Research Institute, Ashok Gulati, Agricultural Economist and Commission on Agricultural Costs and Prices. Includes former president and Anil Ghanawat, president, Shetkari organization. Mann later resigned from his post.

The committee had also sought views and suggestions of the general public through a public notice, which was published in leading newspapers.

Speaking to IANS, Anil Ghanawat confirmed that the committee had submitted the report, but did not provide any details on the content. He said that the material for discussion would not be made public until Chief Justice SA Bobde heard the case. A hearing in the case is expected after April 5, when the court will reopen after Holi’s leave.

The committee deliberated with several farmer organizations on three agricultural laws for two months. The committee spoke to a number of farmer organizations apart from other stakeholders such as APMC officials.

Many farmers unions have been agitating on various Delhi borders since late November, and they refused to discuss them with the appointed committee of the apex court. Farmers’ unions are continuously demanding the abolition of all three agricultural laws.

On January 12, the Supreme Court stayed the implementation of three agricultural laws

Most Popular